Nine writers win ‘Citi - Anondo Alo Shahitto Puroshkar'2018

FE Online Desk | Published: March 25, 2018 12:53:59

Citibank, N.A. Bangladesh announced the winners of ‘Citi- Anondo Alo Shahitto Puroshkar’ 2018 in a ceremony recently. 

Citibank, N.A. Bangladesh and Anondo Alo jointly organised the annual Shahitto Puroshkar to recognise authors for their writing brilliance. The award has become a leading platform in the literary landscape of Bangladesh over the last 10 years. This year, the independent jury, comprising of eminent personalities from the field of literature, received over three hundred entries to decide on the winners across the five categories. 


The winners from each of the categories were acknowledged by N. Rajashekaran – Managing Director and Citi Country Officer, Bangladesh; Faridur Reza Sagor, Managing Director, Channel i; Professor Shamsuzzaman Khan, Director General, Bangla Academy and Head of the Jury Committee along with Rezanur Rahman, Editor, Anondo Alo;  Amirul Islam and Imdadul Huq Milon, Member of Jury Board. 

During the event N. Rajashekaran said “This is indeed a unique platform to promote the literature of the country and thereby to discover talent. I am sure Citi Anondo Alo Shahitto Purushkar will encourage the new generation to explore the world of Bangla literature”.

The 2018 winners across each of the five categories are:


  • Ramendu Majumdar for his collection of essays ‘Nirbachito Rochona Shamagra’ by Kotha Prokash


Novel: ‎

  • Ahmad Mostofa Kamal for ‘Niruddesh Jatra’ by Prothoma



  • Tarik Sujat for ‘Kaler Casino’ by Panjeree Publications


Children Literature: ‎Joint winners

  • Syed Al Faruk for ‘Thaw’  by Ananya and,
  • Faruk Hossain  for ‘Panama Rohossho’ by Babui


First Book:

  • ‎Shejuti Barua  for ‘Hrit’ by Choitonno
  • Mishti Mariya  for ‘Konna’ by Doyel
  • Kowshiq Majumdar  Shuvro for ‘ Ekti Dhumketu o Koyekti Bisshow Juddho’ by Anondom
  • Mir Robi for ‘Aquarium e Mohiruho Pran’ by Drishti 


Share if you like