Bangladesh beat Malaysia to reach Women's T20 Asia Cup final

Published: June 09, 2018 16:27:23 | Updated: June 10, 2018 10:09:11

Bangladesh women’s cricket team stormed into the final of the six-nation Women's T20 Asia Cup for the first time after a huge 70-run victory against host Malaysia at Kinrara Academy Oval, Kuala Lumpur on Saturday. 

Bangladesh will play against upper-ranked India in the final at the same venue on Sunday.

India confirmed their final berth for the 7th time beating Pakistan by 7 wickets in the day’s another match at the same venue.

In the day’s match, batting first after winning the toss, Bangladesh scored 130 for 4 in 20 overs and restricted Malaysia to 60 for 9 in 20 overs.

Player of the match Shamima Sultana (43 off 54b; 5x4) and Ayasha Rahman (31 off 27b; 2x4; 1x6) built up a solid partnership of 59 off 9.5 overs in the opening stand before Ayasha was caught by Mahirah Izzati Ismail off Sasha Azmi.

Fahima Khatun [26* off 12b; 3x4] and Sanjida Islam [15 off 12b; 1x4] contributed 36 off 3.3 overs in the 4th stand to carry the remaining maximum load, reports UNB.

Fahima-Sanjida started from 87/3 in 16 overs and ended on 123/4in 19.3 overs as Sanjida was run out.

Malaysian skipper Winifred Anne Duraisingam (2/19) and Sasha Azmi (1/29) shared three wickets for the side.

Mas Elysa (14 off 18b; 3x4), WA Duraisingam (17 off 35b; 3x4) and opener Yusrina Yaakop (11 off 21b; 2x4) were the double digit scorers for the losing side.

Rumana Ahmed (3/8), Khadija Tul Kubra (1/8), Jahanara Alam (1/9), skipper Salma Khatun (1/9) and Nahida Akter (1/13) shared seven wickets to handle Bangladesh’s bowling department.

Earlier, Bangladesh started the campaign in the meet with a six-wicket loss against Sri Lanka in the first game, and then bounced back for four successive victories; registering seven-wicket wins each against Pakistan and India before crushed Thailand by nine wickets.

After the league phase battles, Bangladesh and India recorded matching collection of eight points, having identical win-loss of four wins against one loss, but India ahead of Bangladesh by virtue of more net run rate.

Share if you like