Bangladesh to play Test series in NZ

Published: July 31, 2018 22:16:31

New Zealand are set to play Asian teams Sri Lanka, India and Bangladesh during their 2018-19 home season from December to March, reports ESPNcricinfo.

The India tour will be particularly significant given both the men's and women's teams will feature in three T20 double-headers in early February after they complete their respective ODI series.

New Zealand's international summer will start with two Tests against Sri Lanka, starting December 15 in Wellington, followed by the Boxing Day Test in Christchurch, before they play three ODIs and a lone T20 in January.

Once India's tour of New Zealand ends with the last T20 on February 10, the hosts will take on Bangladesh for three ODIs, followed by a three-Test series. This will be Bangladesh's first three-Test series since hosting Zimbabwe in 2014. The three Tests will be played in Hamilton, Wellington and Christchurch.

"NZC had hoped to schedule the opening Bangladesh Test at Seddon Park as a Day-Night fixture but could not obtain agreement from the Bangladesh Cricket Board and was forced to revert to the traditional hours-of-play," an NZC release said.

Share if you like