Jatiya Party presents three-point proposal to president on EC formation

Monday, 20 December 2021

Jatiya Party, the main opposition party in the parliament, has presented a three-point proposal to President Abdul Hamid on the formation of the next election commission.

An eight-member delegation of the Jatiya Party participated in the hour-long dialogue with the President from 4.20 pm at Bangabhaban, reports UNB citing President's Press Secretary Joynal Abedin.

President Abdul Hamid started the much-anticipated dialogue on the formation of the next EC with the meeting with Jatiya Party.

Welcoming the delegation, President Hamid said that Election Commission is a very important part of the election process.

"The five-year tenure of the incumbent Commission, led by Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda, will expire on February 14 next. So the dialogue has been organised to form an acceptable Election Commission," he said.

The president hoped that it will be possible to form an acceptable EC on the opinion and suggestions of the political parties.

“The new EC will be able to conduct a free and fair election from national election to local elections,” he also hoped.

Hamid also sought support from all political parties and civil society in this process.

Jatiya Party Chairman GM Quader, head of the delegation, thanked the president for holding such a discussion aiming to form the new EC.

GM Quader presented a three-point proposal to the president to form a free and neutral Election Commission during the discussion.

The delegation proposed the enactment of a law in line with the constitution as there exists no law as required under Article 118(1) of the constitution to form the commission and appoint the chief and other election commissioners.

The delegation said an ordinance can be issued if formulating a law for its formation is not possible right now.

They also said if making law and issuing an ordinance for its formation is not possible right now, an acceptable 'search committee' can be formed for constituting the next EC.

The delegation also assured the president of their all-out support in this initiative of forming EC.

The other members of the delegation were Senior Co-Chairman Barrister Anisul Islam Mahmud, Secretary-General Mujibul Haque, Co-Chairman ABM Ruhul Amin Howlader, Kazi Firoz Rashid, Syed Abul Hossain Babla, Salma Islam, Chief Whip of the main opposition party and Presidium member Mashiur Rahman Ranga.