Selima Rahman, Tuku made BNP standing committee members

Wednesday, 19 June 2019

After over three years of the party's national council, Selima Rahman and Iqbal Hasan Mahmud Tuku have been made BNP's standing committee members.

Party's senior joint secretary general Ruhul Kabir Rizvi came up with the announcement at a press conference at BNP's Nayapaltan central office on Wednesday.

After BNP's council on March 19, 2016, the party had announced the name of 17 standing committee members, according to a UNB report.

Selima Rahman and Iqbal Hassan Mahmud were made vice-chairmen at that time.

Of the 17-stading committee members, ASM Hannan Shah, MK Anwar and Tariqul Islam died at different times.

With the appointment of the duo, the total number of the BNP standing committee members now has risen to 16.