Sri Lanka cricket team to arrive in Dhaka on Sunday

BCB announces squad for practice match

Saturday, 7 May 2022

The Sri Lanka national cricket team will arrive in Dhaka on Sunday morning to take part in a two-match Test series against Bangladesh starting from May 15 in Chattogram.

This series is a part of the ongoing cycle of the ICC World Test Championship, reports UNB.

Bangladesh played five Tests in this event so far and managed to win only one against New Zealand earlier this year. In their last series against South Africa recently, Bangladesh lost both matches.

Bangladesh has already announced the squad for this series including Shakib Al Hasan and Tamim Iqbal. Bangladesh, however, will miss the service of Taskin Ahmed as the pacer has been suffering from an injury that he has sustained during the South Africa series.

Sri Lanka, who are currently at the fifth place in the Test Championship standings, has also announced an 18-member squad with Dimuth Karunaratne being the captain.

While the first Test is slated to be played in Chattogram from May 15, the second and final Test of the series will be played in Dhaka from May 23.

Bangladesh previously played 22 Test matches against the island nation and won only one of them while four ended up in draws.

Bangladesh squad: Mominul Haque (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Litton Das, Yasir Ali, Taijul Islam, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Ebadot Hossain, Khaled Ahmed, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Shohidul Islam, Shoriful Islam (subject to fitness).

Sri Lanka squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Kamil Mishara, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya De Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, Dinesh Chandimal, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Suminda Lakshan, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Embuldeniya

BCB announces squad for practice match

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Saturday announced a 14-member squad to play a two-day practice match against Sri Lanka at BKSP starting from May 10.

Mohammad Mithun, the right-handed batsman, will lead the BCB XI in this match. Anamul Haque Bijoy, who scored more than a thousand runs in the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League this year, has been added to this team along with Mosaddek Hossain, Saif Hassan, Zakir Hasan and Abu Jayed Rahi.

The Sri Lanka cricket team will arrive in Bangladesh on Sunday morning for a two-match Test series which is a part of the 2021-2023 ICC World Test Championship.

The first Test starts at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram on May 15 while the second Test commences at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka on May 23.

BCB XI for two-day practice match vs Sri Lanka:

Mohammad Mithun (Captain), Shadman Islam, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Shahadat Hossain Dipu, Zakir Hasan, Saif Hassan, Musaddek Hossain Saikat, Rishad Hossain, Enamul Haque, Mushfique Hassan, Ripon Mondol, Mukidul Islam Mugdho, Amite Hassan, Abu Jayed Rahi