Three-member probe body formed over MC College gang-rape

Tuesday, 29 September 2020

The Education Ministry formed a three-member committee on Tuesday to investigate whether there was any negligence of the college authorities in the gang rape incident at MC College dormitory.

The committee, headed by Director (College and Administration) of the Directorate of Secondary and Higher Education (DSHE), was asked to submit a report after visiting the spot.

The two other members of the committee are—deputy director (college) of DSHE, Sylhet and assistant director (college) of DSHE.

The committee was asked to submit an initial report within three working days and the final report within seven working days, reports UNB.

On September 25, a group of youths tied up a man and raped his 19-year-old wife at the MC College dormitory. Victim’s husband filed a case at Shahporan Police Station the following day against nine people mentioning the names of six people.

So far, police arrested seven people, including main suspect Saifur Rahman, from different parts of the country.

Of them, five are ‘ezhar’- listed accused while two others are arrested for their suspected involvement in the incident.

The arrestees are Arjun Laskar, Mahbubur Rahman Rony, Rajon, Robiul Islam, Mahfuzur Rahman Masum and Ainuddin

Meanwhile, a Sylhet court on Tuesday (today) placed Mahbubur Rahman Rony, an accused in the case and two suspects- Rajon and Ainuddin--on a 5-day remand each in the case.

Earlier on Monday, the court placed Saifur Rahman Saifur, Arjun Lashkar and Robiul Islam, on a 5-day each remand in the case.

Judge Sharmin Khanom Mila of Metropolitan Magistrate Court No-3 on September 27, recorded the statement of the victim who was gang raped at MC College on Friday.