Aussies win toss, ask Tigers to bowl first

FE Online Desk | Published: June 20, 2019 15:13:14 | Updated: June 21, 2019 10:25:46

Photo: BCB

The defending champions Australia have won the toss and asked Bangladesh to bowl first at Trent Bridge in Nottingham today.

Two changes have been made in the Bangladesh line-up today, Tiger skipper Mashrafe Mortaza has informed.

Pace-bowling all-rounder Mohammad Saifuddin, who bagged nine wickets in four matches to top the list of most wicket takers for Bangladesh in this World Cup, has been left out with back injury and replaced by right-arm pacer Rubel Hossain.

Another all-rounder Mosaddek Hossain Saikat has been ruled out with shoulder injury and replaced by Sabbir Rahman.

For both Rubel and Sabbir, this match will be the first for them to play in this World Cup.

Bangladesh, with five points only, is under pressure more than Australia, who have comfortable eight points. They must win their remaining four matches, including this one, alongwith better run-rates, to keep the semifinal dreams alive.

Bangladesh XI: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Liton Das, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman.

Australia XI: David Warner, Aaron Finch(c), Usman Khawaja, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey(w), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa.

Share if you like