The Financial Express

Bangladesh look to maintain dominance over Zimbabwe in T20 series

| Updated: July 22, 2021 15:57:00

Picture used only for representation. Courtesy: Zimbabwe Cricket Picture used only for representation. Courtesy: Zimbabwe Cricket
The opening T20I against Zimbabwe will be Bangladesh's first of potentially 16 matches in their lead-up to the T20 World Cup in October-November, including matches against Australia, New Zealand and England, reports ESPNcricinfo.com.
In the injury-enforced absence of Tamim Iqbal, Bangladesh's batting line-up will bank on Mohammad Naim and Liton Das for fast starts. Shakib Al Hasan and Mahmudullah will be in charge of the middle order and the team management will hope that at least one of them can bat deep to guide Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan and Mahedi Hasan in the slog overs, according to the report.
Bangladesh have the option of picking a four-member pace attack, with the two left-armers Shoriful Islam and Mustafizur Rahman bowling at specific phases. They also have Soumya Sarkar and Shamim Hossain among the back-up batters while left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed and legspinner Aminul Islam add to the bowling options, ESPNcricinfo says in the report.
Zimbabwe were blanked 3-0 in the preceding ODI series, but they can take heart from their batting performance in the final ODI where the posted 298. Regis Chakabva has been in top form, having made a career-best 84 in the final ODI to back up his 54 in the first match. Wessley Madhevere has threatened big scores, while Ryan Burl and Sikandar Raza also made fifties in the third game, the reports says.
Zimbabwe's bowling looked a bit of shape in the second and third ODIs, but they are capable of making an impact with the new ball. Blessing Muzarabani offers sharp pace and bounce, while Richard Ngarava, Donald Tiripano and Luke Jongwe have been among the wickets. Tendai Chatara, however, hasn't been as effective, ESPNcricinfo points out in the report.
Bangladesh will look to attack the twin offspinners Madhevere and Raza, but that could potentially give the hosts an opportunity to strike, it says.

Probable XI

Bangladesh Squad: 1. Mohammad Naim, 2. Liton Das (wk), 3. Shakib Al Hasan, 4. Mahmudullah (capt), 5. Afif Hossain, 6. Nurul Hasan, 7. Mahedi Hasan, 8. Mohammad Saifuddin, 9. Taskin Ahmed, 10. Shoriful Islam, 11. Mustafizur Rahman
Zimbabwe Squad: 1. Regis Chakabva (wk), 2. Tarisai Musakanda/Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, 3. Tadiwanashe Marumani, 4. Wessley Madhevere, 5. Dion Myers, 6. Sikandar Raza (capt), 7. Ryan Burl, 8. Donald Tiripano, 9. Luke Jongwe, 10. Blessing Muzarabani, 11. Richard Ngarava

Share if you like