The Financial Express

Tri-nation T20 series

Bangladesh win toss, choose to field first against Zimbabwe

| Updated: September 14, 2019 10:05:50

-UNB photo -UNB photo

Bangladesh have won the toss and opted to bat first in the Tri-nation T20 series opener, delayed and shortened by rains, against Zimbabwe on Friday at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

The match was scheduled to start at 6:30 pm, but now it is now set to be started at 8pm due to rain. The match is now will be played as 18-over per side, report UNB and bdnews24.com.

Bangladesh included uncapped Taijul Islam in this match. He played 25 Tests and six ODIs before donning the T20I cap.

It was raining in Mirpur since the morning on Friday. But hours before the game, the rain stopped and groundsmen put their best effort to make the field ready to host the game.

Bangladesh and Zimbabwe faced each other in nine T20Is previously where Bangladesh came up victorious in five games.

In Sher-e-Bangla, Bangladesh played 22 T20Is and won eight of them.


Bangladesh: Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan(c), Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Afif Hossain.

Zimbabwe: Hamilton Masakadza(c), Brendan Taylor(w), Craig Ervine, Ryan Burl, Sean Williams, Timycen Maruma, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Tony Munyonga, Neville Madziva, Kyle Jarvis, Tendai Chatara.

Share if you like