Affiliation of seven colleges: DU students lock academic, admin buildings

Published: July 22, 2019 12:07:25 | Updated: July 22, 2019 17:42:47

General students of Dhaka University (DU) put the academic and the administrative buildings under lock and key on Monday morning demanding an end to the university's affiliation with seven colleges.

The main entrances of Registrar building, Arts building, Curzon Hall, Mokarram Bhaban, Law faculty, Business faculty, Institute of Modern Languages, Institute of Education and Research, and Social Science buildings remained locked since 8:00 am.

"We want an end to the affiliation as the university doesn't have the capability to bear the burden of the seven colleges," said Shakil Mia, the spokesman of the Movement.

He said the protests will continue until their demands are met, reports UNB.

The students on Sunday announced continuation of their movement demanding cancellation of the affiliation as the DU authorities didn't assure scrapping its ties with the colleges.

Earlier on July 17, about 300 students, under the banner of general students, took to the streets at Shahabagh on the same demand.

The affiliated colleges are Dhaka College, Eden Mohila College, Government Shaheed Suhrawardy College, Kabi Nazrul Government College, Begum Badrunnesa Government Women's College, Mirpur Government Bangla College, and Government Titumir College.

Share if you like