Bangladesh face Bhutan in semifinal today

Published: August 16, 2018 00:32:42 | Updated: August 16, 2018 18:45:25

Defending champions Bangladesh will take on hosts Bhutan in their semifinal match of the 2nd SAFF U-15 Women's Championship today (Thursday). 

The match will be held at the Changlimithang Stadium in Thimphu.

The second semifinal match between them will kick-off at 7 pm (Bangladesh Time) while Group A champions India will play Group B runners-up Nepal in the first semis on the same day at 4 pm at the same venue.

Bangladesh U-15 Women's team emerged Group B champions with all-win record to reach the semifinal of the six-nation 2nd SAFF U-15 Women's Championship.

Ahead of the semis against Bhutan, Bangladesh striker Rehena said, "We reached the semifinal, now we will give our 100 percent to win the match against Bhutan to play in the final, but, my ultimate dream is to clinch the SAFF U-15 Women's title", according to a message received from Bangladesh Football Federation on Tuesday.

Bangladesh custodian Rupna Chakma said, "I am very happy to win the match against Nepal to reach the semifinal as the group champions, now we are getting ready and serious to win the match against hosts Bhutan, giving our best efforts, please pray for us".

Bangladesh made flying start in the SAFF U-15 Women's meet crushing Pakistan by massive 14-0 goals in the opening match. They emerged Group B champions beating Nepal by 3-0 goals in the last group affairs, featuring one goal each from Tohura Khatun, Maria Manda and Sajeda Khnatun, reports UNB.

Last-time runners-up India also reached the semifinal of the six-nation 2nd SAFF U-15 Women's championship as Group A champions with all-win record. They beat Sri Lanka by 12-0 goals in the opening match and defeated hosts Bhutan by 1-0 goal in the 2nd match. Hosts Bhutan also booked seat for the last four stages outplaying another all losers Sri Lanka by 6-0 goals despite losing to India by 0-1 goal.

Bangladesh U-15 squad: Mahmuda Akter, Rupna Chakma, Rupa Akter, Akhi Khatun, Anai Mogini, Nazma Khatun, Nilufa Yasmin Nila, Ilamoni, Shaheda Akter Ripa, Anuching Mogini, Rehana Akter, Maria Manda, Monika Chakma, Laboni Akter, Tahura Khatun, Munni Akter, Shamsunnahar, Sohagi Kisku, Rituporna, Sajeda, Shamsunnahar Jr, Rojina and Nousun.

Share if you like