Bangladesh win T20 series against world champions West Indies

Published: August 06, 2018 11:03:53 | Updated: August 06, 2018 20:19:18

West Indies' Andre Russell, left, reacts after he was caught out off the bowling of Bangladesh's Mushfiqur Rahim, second from left, during a Twenty20 international cricket match Saturday, Aug 4, 2018, in Lauderhill, Fla - AP Photo

Bangladesh have won the final T20 match against the West Indies to take the series 2-1.

The Tigers won the final game by 19 runs according to the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern method after rain interrupted play in the 18th over.

The West Indies had needed 50 runs to win off 17 deliveries with three wickets in hand before the match was cancelled.

Bangladesh won the toss Bangladesh time and decided to bat first. A whirlwind 61 by Liton Das helped the Tigers to 184/5 in the 20 overs, reports bdnews24.

The West Indies innings never seemed to settle and eventually the burden fell to Andre Russell, who hit several massive sixes before being dismissed on the first ball of the 18th over, leaving the West Indies at 135/7. The rain began hammering down as he returned to the pavilion, eventually leading to a stoppage.

Mustafizur Rahman took three wickets for 31 runs, while Abu Hider, Rubel Hossain, Soumya Sarkar and Shakib Al Hasan picked up one wicket each.

Spinner Nazmul Islam suffered an injury to his left hand after it was inadvertently stepped on by non-striker Rovman Powell in the 5th over. He was taken to the hospital and ESPNcricinfo reported that he had four lacerations on his hand.

Liton Das was declared Man of the Match.

Share if you like