BRTC to sell advance tickets from May 20

Published: May 16, 2019 21:02:31 | Updated: May 17, 2019 10:33:05

Bangladesh Road Transport Corporation (BRTC) will start selling advance tickets from May 20 along with launching ‘Eid Special Service’ from May 27 to ensure safe journey for the homebound people.

“BRTC will start selling advance tickets from May 20 for Eid holidaymakers from different depots, including Motijheel, Joarsahara, Kalayanpur, Gabtoli, Mohammadpur, Mirpur, Jatrabari, Gazipur and Narayanganj,” said BRTC chairman Farid Ahmed Bhuiyan, reports BSS.

Taking to BSS, he said a total of 1,089 buses, including 150 newly imported ones, will operate as ‘Eid Special Service’ from May 27. Of these buses, 649 buses will operate from Dhaka and 390 from different districts and upazilas, he added.

“We will keep 50 buses in reserve to face any contingency,” said the BRTC chairman.

BRTC’s deputy general manager (operation) Moniruzzaman Babu said Motijheel bus depot will operate bus service on Dhaka-Naghpur, Daudkandi, Bajitpur, Khulna, Dinajpur and Netrokona routes.

Rangpur, Panchagar, Kurigram, Gaibandha, Kushtia, Rajshahi, Sherpur, Jamalpur, Netrokona, Nagorpur, Gobindaganj, Ranishangkar, Thakurgaon and Dinajpur routes will remain under BRTC’s Kalayanpur bus depot and Gabtoli bus deport will operate services on Rangpur, Dinajpur and Thakurgaon routes, he said.

Babu said Bishwaroad-Panchdona, Rangpur, Naogaon, Jaypurhat, Tangail, Mymensingh and Bogura routes will remain under Joarsahara bus depot, Rangpur, Kushtia, Kurigram, Dinajpur and Naogaon routes under Mirpur bus depot while the entire Rangpur route will be under Mohammadpur bus depot of BRTC.

Besides, bus services will operate on Bishwaroad-Panchdona, Kishoreganj, Tangail, Jamalpur, Netrokona, Mymensingh, Rangpur, Dinajpur and Thakurgaon rotutes from BRTC’s Gazipur bus depot. Jatrabari bus depot will operate services on Dhaka-Gauripur, Tongi-Mawa, Chattogram and Sylhet routes, Narayanganj bus deport on Dhaka-Narayanganj, Dhaka-Meghna upazila, Biswaroad-Panchdona routes, Narsingdi bus deport on Dhaka-Narsingdi and Dhaka-Bhairab routes while Sylhet bus deport will operate services on Sylhet-Tarakanda routes.

BRTC chairman Farid Ahmed Bhuiyan urged Eid holidaymakers to travel by buses of ‘BRTC Special Service’ and said 50 buses will be kept ready at different BRTC depots in Dhaka to offer services to people from June 3. 

“We will keep these buses standby at Mirpur bus depot, in front of Nandanpark, Kalayanpur bus depot, Chadra Mor, Motijheel bus depot, Joarsahara bus depot, Mohammadpur bus depot, Hemayetpur bus depot and Mahakhali bus depot to provide service to people,” said Farid Ahmed Bhuiyan.

People will get all necessary information on BRTC website: www.btrc.gov.bd . For tickets and other travel information BTRC has requested people to contact the cell-phone numbers: Motijheel Depot-01712281121, Kalayanpur Depot-01711578744, Gabtoli Depot-01818485388, Joarsahara Depot-01619457245, Mirpur Depot-01740098888, Mohammadpur Depot- 01712224038, Gazipur Depot-01817782866, Jatrabari Depot-01711391514, Narayanganj Depot-01716684144, Cumilla Depot-01758880011 and Narsingdi Depot-01553349567.

Share if you like