The Financial Express

BCB recalls Nasir in ODI squad against South Africa

| Updated: October 24, 2017 23:17:29

BCB recalls Nasir in ODI squad against South Africa

Bangladesh Cricket Board on Thursday announced a 15-member final squad for the three-match ODI series against South Africa.

The match ODI series begins on October 15 at De Beers Diamond Oval in Kimberley, reports UNB.

The 2nd ODI match will be held on October 18 at Boland Park, Paarl while the 3rd and last ODI scheduled for October 22 at Buffalo Park, East London. All the three ODI matches will begin at 2 am Bangladesh time.

Saifuddin, 20 year ols pacer-cum-allrounder, is one of three inclusion in the limited-over squad alongside opening batsman Liton Kumar Das and all-rounder Nasir Hossain replacing all rounder Mosaddek Hossain, Sunzamul Islam and Shafiul Islam.

Saifuddin, who made his T20I debut in April last, was earmarked for the senior team after an impressive score in the 2016 Under-19 World Cup.

Nasir Hossain, who was a recall after missing out last ODI side that played in the last ICC Champions Trophy.

Liton Das, now touring South Africa with Bangladesh Test squad, currently caught the eye with his wicket-keeping but not so much with his batting.

Nasir didn't do too well in the Test series at home against Australia but since then took a five-wicket haul and scored a fifty in two first-class matches.

Mosaddek Hossain has been dropped due to eye infection. Sunzamul had similar complaint, but has begun playing first-class cricket again for Rajshahi while Shafiul hasn't played an ODI since October last year although he was in Bangladesh's Champions Trophy squad.

Bangladesh ODI squad: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (Captain), Tamim Iqbal Khan, Litton Kumar Das, Soumya Sarker, Imrul Kayes, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan (Vice Captain), Shabbir Rahaman,  Nasir Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain and Mohammad Saif Uddin.

Share if you like