2 years ago

Tigers to enter bio-secure bubble Tuesday ahead of NZ tour

- File Photo
- File Photo

Published :

Updated :

Ahead of the five-match T20I series against New Zealand, Bangladesh national cricket team is set to enter a bio-secure bubble on Tuesday, chief medical officer of the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has confirmed.

Members of the Bangladesh team underwent a Covid-19 test on August 22 and 23, and they are now in isolation at home before entering the bubble.

"All the players of the national team and other staff underwent a Covid-19 test. Based on their Covid-19 test result, they will enter a bio-secure bubble at a hotel in the capital," Debashis Chowdhuty, the chief medical officer BCB, told the media on Monday.

"Along with the Bangladesh team, the New Zealand national team will also begin a bio-bubble on Tuesday. Both the teams will have to complete a three-day quarantine in the hotel before being allowed to practice at the field," Debashis added.

A two-member observer team of New Zealand has already arrived in Bangladesh, and two of their players have also reached Dhaka, and all of them are maintaining quarantine, reports UNB.

The first match of the series will take place on September 1, while the other matches will be played on September 3, 5, 8 and 10 respectively. All the matches will be played at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

The New Zealand cricket team is scheduled to arrive in Dhaka on Tuesday. From the airport, they will directly go to the team hotel.

BCB has already announced a 19-member squad for this series. Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das and Aminul Islam Biplob returned to the squad. All of them were out of the squad in the last series against Australia that Bangladesh won 4-1, their first-ever series sweep vs. Aussies.

Bangladesh squad for New Zealand T20Is: Mahmudullah Riyad (capt), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Musaddek Hossain Saikat, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Naim, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shamim Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Mohammad Saifuddin, Shoriful Islam, Taijul Islam, Mahedi Hasan, Aminul Islam Biplob, Nasum Ahmed


Share this news