The Financial Express

Squad for NZ test series announced, Shakib included

Photo: ESPNcricinfo Photo: ESPNcricinfo

Shakib Al Hasan, who reportedly wanted to skip, has been included in the set-up as Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Saturday announced an 18-man squad for the Tour of New Zealand 2021-22 which will be held in January.

Fast bowler Shoriful Islam also made his way back to the test side after missing out on the Pakistan series due to injury.

Opener Saif Hassan and off-spinner Nayeem Hasan have been excluded from the squad despite the latter being fairly consistent in the format.

Earlier today, BCB President Nazmul Hassan Papon confirmed to the media that Shakib Al Hasan unofficially informed the BCB boss that he wants to skip the tour.

“He hasn’t informed anything officially, but yes, he expressed his desire to opt out from the tour,” Papon said.

“I asked him to send an official letter and then we would decide. We need to know why he wants to skip the tour,” he added.

Bangladesh squad for NZ tour

Mominul Haque (Captain), Shadman Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Litton Kumar Das, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Yasir Ali Rabbi, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Shohidul Islam, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Md Naim Sheikh.

[email protected]

Share if you like