12 students get RU Dean's Award

Published: April 17, 2018 10:49:22 | Updated: April 18, 2018 13:22:49

UNB File Photo

Twelve students of Rajshahi University (RU) were given Dean's Award for their brilliant result for the first time with the main thrust of inspiring and encouraging the student towards academic learning.

The award-recipients are: Shima Khatun (Philosophy), Syed Naimur Rahman (History), Irtifa Hassan (English), Monju Rani Das (Bangla), Jannati Kaonain Keya (Islamic History and Culture), Abul Futuhu (Arabic), Ashraful Islam (Islamic Studies), Joyshree Paul (Music), Zinat Ara Gulshana Marzia (Dramatics), Kabita Akter (Persian Language), Nazrina Akter (Sanskrit) and Nur Muhammad (Urdu).

RU VC Prof Abdus Sobhan as the chief guest handed over the awards to the successful students at a function in the conference hall of Deans Complex on Monday afternoon.

Chaired by Arts Faculty Dean Prof FMAH Taqui, the ceremony was attended and addressed, among others, by Pro-VC Prof Ananda Kumar Saha, Treasurer Prof Mustafizur Rahman and Proctor Prof Lutfor Rahman.

Speaking on the occasion, Prof Sobhan urged the award recipients to engage them in nation building process through the best uses of their talents, reports BSS.

He said the students should supplement the government efforts towards building Bangladesh as a non-communal and knowledge-based country.

Share if you like