a year ago

Dhaka-Bhanga expressway

New bus fares for SW dists in force

Published :

Updated :

Bus fares for southwestern districts through Dhaka-Mawa-Bhanga expressway have been revised six days into the previous rates fixed as toll collection from the country's first freeway starts today (Friday).

The Bangladesh Road Transport Authority (BRTA) has revised the per-person bus fare on 15 routes in south-western districts on Thursday to adjust the toll imposed on the 55-kilometre route.

Sources say fare has been increased from Tk 30 to more than 60 to adjust it to Tk 495 and Tk 275 tolls imposed on big buses and minibuses respectively.

On June 08, the BRTA fixed bus fares for 15 routes in line with the tolls announced for Padma Bridge which took effect on June 26.

The revised fares, however, were not adjusted to the tolls paid for Hanif flyover, estimating Tk 6.72 per passenger for 51-seat buses and Tk 9 per passenger for a 40-seater.

The latest revision shows per-passenger fare for a 40-seat bus on Dhaka-Barishal route via Bhanga and Madaripur is fixed at Tk 454 from Tk 415.

The fare for Dhaka-Gopalganj route via Bhanga is fixed at Tk 423 from Tk 392.

Other bus routes and revised fares are as follows:

Dhaka-Khulna via Gopalganj Tk 575, Dhaka-Shariatpur via Janjira Tk 257, Dhaka-Pirojpur via Bhanga and Barishal Tk 580, Dhaka-Pirojpur via Bhanga, Gopalganj and Bagerhat Tk 619, Dhaka-Patuakhali via Bhanga and Barishal Tk 561, Dhaka-Madaripur via Bhanga Tk 344, Dhaka-Satkhira via Gopalganj and Khulna Tk 689, Dhaka-Faridpur via Bhanga Tk 323, Dhaka-Shariatpur via Buriganga 2nd Bridge Tk 257, Dhaka-Kuakata via Patuakhali Tk 767, Cox's Bazar-Barishal via Chattogram and Postagola Tk 1,388, Chattogram-Khulna via Postagola of Dhaka Tk 1,192, and Chattogram-Barguna via Postagola and Patuakhali Tk 1,282.

For 51-seat buses, Tk 356 is fixed for Dhaka-Barishal via Bhanga and Madaripur, Tk 332 for Dhaka-Gopalganj via Bhanga, Tk 456 for Dhaka-Khulna via Gopalganj, Tk 211 for Dhaka-Shariatpur via Janjira, Tk 455 for Dhaka-Pirojpur via Bhanga and Barishal, Tk 486 Dhaka-Pirojpur via Bhanga, Gopalganj and Bagerhat, Tk 440 for Dhaka-Patuakhali via Bhanga and Barishal, Tk 270 for Dhaka-Madaripur via Bhanga, Tk 541 for Dhaka-Satkhira via Bhang, Gopalganj and Khulna, Tk 253 for Dhaka Faridpur via Bhanga, Tk 201 for Dhaka-Shariatpur via Buriganga 2nd Bridge, Tk 601 for Dhaka-Kuakata via Bhanga Madaripur, Barishal, Patuakhali, Tk 1089 for Cox's Bazar-Barishal via Chattogram and Postagola Bridge and Madaripur, Tk 935 for Chattogram-Khulna via Postagola Bridge and Madaripur and Tk 1005 for Chattogram-Barguna via Postagola Bridge, Barishal and Patuakhali.

[email protected]

Share this news