16 Awami League-allied candidates get boat symbol

Friday, 7 December 2018

The Awami League has announced final candidates for 240 seats in the 11th parliamentary election and approved the ‘boat symbol’ for 16 candidates from allied parties.

Five of these candidates are from the Workers Party, three are from JSD (Inu), two from Jatiya Party (JP Manju), one from the Tariqat Federation and one from the JaSaD (Ambia).

Three members of the Jukto Front will also compete under the boat symbol.

Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader handed over the final letters approving candidacies to party leaders at the Awami League President’s political office in Dhanmondi on Friday morning.

But Quader did not clarify how many seats will be left for the Jatiya Party under HM Ershad.

Jatiya Party candidates will run under their ‘plough’ symbol in the December 30 polls.

At a briefing at the Awami League’s Dhanmondi offices, Quader indicated that 55 to 60 seats may be left for allies. Of these, the Jatiya Party may get 40 to 42 seats, he said. The final breakdown is to be finalised on Friday, bdnews24.com reported.


Workers Party: Rashed Khan Menon (Dhaka-8), Fazle Hossain Badsha (Rajshahi-2), Mustafa Lutfullah (Satkhira-1), Tipu Sultan (Barishal-3), Md Yeasin Ali (Thakurgaon-3)

JSD: Hasanul Haq Inu (Kushtia-2), Shirin Akhter (Feni-1), AKM Rezaul Karim Tansen (Bogura-4)

Bikalpadhra: MA Mannan (Lakshmipur-4), Mahi B Chowhdury (Munshiganj-1), OFM Shaheen (Moulvibazar-2)

JP: Anwar Hossain Manju (Pirojpur-2), Ruhul Amin (Kurigram-4)

Tariqat Federation: Syed Nazibul Bashar Maizvandary (Chattogram-2) and Anwar Khan (Lakshmipur-1)

JaSaD (Ambia): Moin Uddin Khan Badal (Chattogram-8)