The Financial Express

Bangladesh women’s cricket team granted Test status

| Updated: April 07, 2021 19:50:02

-File photo -File photo

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has decided to award the Test and ODI status permanently to Bangladesh, as a full-member team of the council.

As per the decision, which was taken during a recent meeting of the ICC Cricket Committee, women’s teams of Zimbabwe and Afghanistan have also gained the status to play Test cricket, according to a media release issued by the ICC on Thursday.

“It was decided that Test and ODI status shall be permanently awarded to all Full-Member women’s teams,” the ICC said.

Before taking the decision, only India, West Indies, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, South Africa, Netherlands, Ireland, England, Australia, and Pakistan have had the privilege of playing Test cricket.

The meeting, led by former Indian captain Anil Kumble, considered the current issues in the international game, and presented its recommendations which were approved. One of the issues discussed was the current approach to Umpire’s Call.


Share if you like