The Financial Express

Tigers opt to bowl first against Proteas

| Updated: October 21, 2017 23:31:54

Dean Elgar in action. - File photo Dean Elgar in action. - File photo

Tigers won the toss and elected to bowl first against host South Africa in the 1st match of their two-match Test series starting at Senwes Park in Potchefstroom on Thursday.

This is Bangladesh's 11th Test encounter against South Africa where ICC's new rules, including DRS and sending off a player by on-field umpires for misconduct on the ground, will be applied for the first time.

Bangladesh focused on pace strength keeping Taskin Ahmed, Shafiul Islam and Mustafizur Rahman in the playing XI while Mehedi Hasan Miraz to lead the spin department, reports UNB.

Mahmudullah is back in the squad while Liton Das replaced injured Soumya Sarkar.

Andile Phehlukwayo and Aiden Markram are making their Test debuts in the match for South Africa.

Mushfiqur Rahim-led Bangladesh are playing their first Test in three years without all-rounder Shakib AL Hasan, who has been allowed to rest during two Tests against the Proteas, according to bdnews24.

The Tigers are on South African soil to play Test cricket after around a nine-year break as they played there last in November 2008.

Bangladesh XI: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mominul Haque, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Liton Kumar Das, Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Shafiul Islam and Mustafizur Rahman.

South Africa XI: Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Faf du Plessis (captain), Quinton de Kock, Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel and Duanne Olivier.

Share if you like