Sudan, neighbouring countries sign declaration on enhancing health security

Published: November 23, 2018 15:02:05 | Updated: November 30, 2018 18:52:35

Sudan and its neighbouring countries signed Khartoum declaration on enhancing health security across the border.

The declaration was signed on Thursday by Sudan, Chad, Ethiopia, Egypt, Libya and South Sudan.

It aims to enhance health cooperation to achieve health security and implement international regulations to prevent health threats, reports Xinhua.

Sudan's Health Minister Mohamed Abu Zaid said "Khartoum declaration represents the countries' commitment to health security," adding that the World Health Organization (WHO) is committed to providing technical and financial support.

Naeema Al-Gasseer, WHO representative in Sudan, said this is the first time in 20 years that African and Arab countries meet together to address health security across the border.

Share if you like