ACC summons six more AB Bank directors 

Published: January 01, 2018 23:52:14 | Updated: January 03, 2018 14:45:09

The Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC) on Monday summoned six more members of the AB Bank's Board of Directors for interrogation on money laundering.

ACC Assistant Director (Public Relations) Pranab Kumar Bhattacharya said the notice has been issued to the chairman of the bank on Monday asking for their appearance before the ACC on Jan 7, 2018.

"The directors of AB Bank are - Shishir Ranjan Bose, Mejbahul Haque, Fahimul Haque, Syed Afzal Hasan Uddin, Runa Zakia and Md. Anwar Jamil Siddiqui while one of the clients of bank trader Saiful Haque is also summoned for questioning onJan 4," said Pranab to UNB.

Meanwhile, the ACC imposed a ban on the travel of 12 senior officials of the bank.

Earlier on December 26, five other AB Bank's officials -- Mohammad Mahfuz Ul Islam, head of corporate treasury, Mohammad Lokman, head of Offshore Banking Unit, Arif Neaz, OBU at EPZ branch, Mahadeb Sarkar Sumon, company secretary, and MN Azim, who works in financial institutions and treasury section -- have also been summoned on January 2.

On December 28, the bank's former chairman M Wahidul Haque and former managing director M Fazlur Rahman were interrogated.

On December 31, the bank's former Managing Director Shamim Ahmed Chowdhury and the chief of the bank's Financial Institutions and Treasury branch Abu Hena Mostafa Kamal were also interrogated by ACC.

ACC director Syed Iqbal Hossain and assistant director Gulshan Anwar are investigating the allegation and doing the interrogations.

Wahidul Haque, along with AB Bank's vice chairman and a director, resigned from the bank's board of directors on December 21 amid allegations of money laundering by the bank when the bank faces criticism over its alleged laundering of around Tk 1.65 billion to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) through two shady organisations in the name of investment.

Share if you like