3 years ago

Awami League names candidates for Dhaka-5, Naogaon-6 by-polls

Published :

Updated :

The ruling Awami League on Monday announced the names of candidates for Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 by-election.

Party's general secretary Obaidul Quader announced their names at a regular press briefing held at his official residence.

The Party nominated Monirul Islam Monu for Dhaka-5 and picked Mohammad Anawar Hossain Helal for Naogaon-6, reports UNB.

Dhaka-5 MP was Awami League’s Habibur Rahman Mollah, who died on May 6, 2020, while the Naogaon-6 member of parliament had been the late Israfil Alam.

Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 by-polls are scheduled for October 1, according to the Election Commission.

In the meantime, Awami League presidium members and former ministers Mohammad Nasim and Sahara Khatun have passed away, leaving the Sirajganj-1 and Dhaka-18 seats vacant respectively.

The candidate for Dhaka-18 will be announced later, Quader said.

Share this news