Jatiya Party's Ershad takes oath as MP

Published: January 06, 2019 13:59:53 | Updated: January 20, 2019 21:43:35

Jaitya Party Chairman HM Ershad seen in this undated file photo — Collected

Jaitya Party Chairman HM Ershad took oath as a member of the 11th Parliament on Sunday.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath at Parliament Bhaban around 12:30pm, UNB reported citing a Parliament Secretariat handout.

Ershad was elected MP from Rangpur-3 constituency in the national election held on December 30.

Earlier on Saturday, Jatiya Party Co-chairman GM Quader at a press conference said they will play the role of the main opposition for the smooth functioning of parliament while their party Chairman HM Ershad will act as the Leader of the Opposition.

Jatiya Party, which joined the election as the key partner of the Awami League-led Grand Alliance, bagged 22 seats in the election.

Share if you like