The Financial Express

Vote on 133 local bodies Dec 28

| Updated: November 13, 2017 11:23:27

- File Photo - File Photo

The Election Commission (EC) will hold elections to 125 union parishads (UPs), seven municipalities and an upazila parishad on December 28.

The EC on Sunday issued directives to its field-level officials to announce election schedules for the local bodies fixing December 28 for the balloting.

Joint Secretary (In-Charge) at the EC Secretariat Farhad Ahammad Khan informed about this information on Sunday.

According to UNB, Among the 133 bodies, four municipalities, 34 UPs and an upazila parishad will go to the regular polls following expiry of their respective tenures.

Three municipalities and 91 UPs will see by-election as some posts of the bodies fell vacant for different reasons.

As per the election schedules mentioned in the EC's directives, the deadline for submission of nomination paper is November 27 while the dates for scrutiny of the nomination papers are November 28 and 29 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is December 7.

Share if you like