Bangabandhu BPL to resume Friday

Thursday, 27 January 2022

After a two-day gap, the ongoing Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) is all set to resume Friday at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram.

In the first match on Friday, the home team, Chattogram Challengers, will take on the Khulna Tigers at 1:30 p.m., while at 6:30 p.m., the second match of the day will be played between Sylhet Sunrisers and Minister Group Dhaka.

A total of eight matches will take place in Chattogram, reports UNB.

According to the current standing, the Comilla Victorians are at the top of the table with four points from two wins in two matches they played so far. Chattogram Challengers are right after them with four points in three matches.

The other four teams have secured two points each. Among them, Minister Group Dhaka played most matches— four so far and won only a match while Fortune Barishal played three matches, and Sylhet Sunrisers and Khulna Tigers played two matches each.

Captain of Minister Group Dhaka, Mahmudullah Riyad, is leading the list of the most-run scorers with 124 runs under his name while Benny Howell, Tamim Iqbal, Will Jacks, and Shuvagata Hom stand right after him with 112, 105, 74 and 72 runs respectively.

Left-arm spinner Nazmul Islam is leading the list of the most-wicket takers with seven wickets from two matches while Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Shoriful Islam are right after him with six wickets each, and Nahidul Islam, Dwayne Bravo are after them on the table with five wickets each.

A total of six teams are taking place in this edition of BPL. The matches are being played in three different venues across Dhaka, Chattogram and Sylhet.

The Chattogram phase of BPL will end on February 1, and the teams will return to play in Dhaka from February 3. After four matches, all the teams will travel to Sylhet and will play there on February 7, 8 and 9 before BPL returning to Dhaka again on February 11.