The Financial Express

Australia win the toss and choose to field first

Photo: ESPNcricinfo Photo: ESPNcricinfo

Australia have won the all-important toss at Dubai and as expected, elected to field first in the Grand Finale of the seventh edition of ICC T20 World Cup. 

Australia have named the same squad while New Zealand have selected Tim Seifert replacing injured Devon Conway. 

Aussie skipper Aaron Finch thinks that the pitch is "a bit drier than the one from the other night but hopefully it skids on." 

Kane Williamson, the Kiwi captain, also admits that they would have bowled first as well had he won the toss.

Nonetheless, he is more interested in focusing on the job at hand regardless of the conditions in the middle, "Who knows about the dew but important we focus on that task at hand, with the bat first and trying to get a competitive total," he was quoted by ESPNcricinfo. 


Australia XI: David Warner, Aaron Finch (cap), Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood.

New Zealand XI: Martin Guptill, Daryll Mitchell, Kane Williamson, Tim Seifert (wk), Glenn Phillips, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi. 

Share if you like