a year ago

Bangladesh make winning start in SAFF U-20 Women’s Championship

Published :

Updated :

Hosts Bangladesh made winning start in the SAFF U-20 Women's Championship when they beat Nepal by 3-1 goals held on Friday at Birshreshtha Shaheed Sepoy Mohammad Mostafa Kamal Stadium in the city's Kamalapur.

Bangladesh launched the attack early and had to wait for a little bit to get reap when Aklima Khatun put Bangladesh ahead early in the 3rd minute taking a pass from Shaheda Akter Lipa, reports BSS.

Shaheda Akter Ripa doubled the lead scoring the second goal for Bangladesh in the 13rd minute with a perfect finishing from inside the D box.

Nepal however fight back match in the 24th minute with Man Maya Damai reducing the margin for Nepal with a well-judge shot from close range following a corner kick.

Nepal got another scoring chance in the 40th minute, but this time Bangladesh's custodian Rupna Chakma foiled the Nepal's attack brilliantly.

Back with a 2-1 lead, Bangladesh started the second half with a more organised way and they continued onslaught to extend the lead.

Shaheda Akter Ripa sealed the victory scoring her second and third goal for Bangladesh in the 90+1st minute with a perfect angular shot from the right wing giving no chance to Nepalese custodian under the bar.

Earlier, in the day's first match, Forwards Neha, Lynda Kom and Anita Kumari slammed a brilliant hat-trick each as strong India made flying start in the tournament thrashing lowly Bhutan by 12-0 goals also held at the same venue.

Apart from Neha, Lynda Kom and Anita's hat-trick with three goals, striker Apurna Narzary scored two goals while midfielder Nitu Linda added the other one goal for India in the one-sided affairs.

In the proceeding, Neha, Lynda and Anita scored all three goals apiece in the 45th+2nd, 55th, and 90th, 61st, 63rd and 75th and 50th, 69th and 78th minutes respectively for India.

Apurna struck twice in the 29th and 36th minutes while Nitu Linda netted a lone goal for India in the 43rd minute of the match.

India, Nepal, Bhutan and Bangladesh are competing in the regional competition organised by the South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) under the supervision of the Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF).

The tournament will be held during February 3-9 on a league basis.

In the remaining league basis matches, Bangladesh will face their arch-rivals India on February 5 at 7pm while Nepal will encounter Bhutan on the same day at 3pm.

Bangladesh will play Bhutan on February 7 at 7:00 pm in their last league match while India will encounter Nepal at 4:00 pm on the same day.

After the league-basis matches, the two top teams will play the final on February 9 at 6:00 pm at the same venue.

Share this news