The Financial Express

Bangladesh to participate in Nidahas trophy in March 18

| Updated: November 19, 2017 09:37:23

File photo File photo

Bangladesh is set to play a tri-nation T20 series against India and Sri Lanka in March 2018 to mark Sri Lanka's 70 years of independence.
Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced the details and fixtures of the event on Friday. All the matches of the tri-nation series, Nidahas Trophy, will be played at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.
Thilanga Sumathipala, President of SLC, expressed his content and joy as they prepare to host a memorable event. He and the other board members were delighted that their two neighbouring countries- India and Bangladesh are supporting them and believed this would further strengthen the relationships between the three countries.
Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) did not give a second thought before confirming SLC's invitation.
According to Nazmul Hassan Papon, President of BCB, Sri Lanka's invitation showed their loving friendship and support towards Bangladesh's cricket.
Meanwhile, CEO of BCCI, Rahul Johri, said that the Indian team and BCCI feel privileged to be able to be a part of Sri Lanka's glorious celebration of 70 years of independence. He too stressed on the strong relationships between the cricket boards.
The Nidahas Trophy was last played in 1998 to celebrate Sri Lanka's 50 years of independence and SLC's 50 years of inception.

Share if you like