The Financial Express

UNCTAD to release new LDC report today

| Updated: September 28, 2021 14:56:06

UNCTAD to release new LDC report today

United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) is going to release the Least Developed Countries Report 2021 today (Monday) afternoon from Geneva.

The report is the 25th version of the UNCTAD’s flagship publication. The first LDC report was published in 1996.

The latest report focuses on the LDCs socio-economic situation in the post-Covid world, according to those who have knowledge about the report. It is also linked with the five decades of LDCs journey.

Currently, 46 countries including Bangladesh are categorised as LDCs by the United Nations (UN). Bangladesh is set to graduate from the LDC category by 2026. 

Of the 46 LDCs, 36 are now the member of the World Trade Organization (WTO). These are: Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Djibouti, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Haiti, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Niger, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Yemen, and Zambia.

Eight more least-developed countries are negotiating to join the WTO. These are: Bhutan, Comoros, Ethiopia, Sao Tomé & Principe, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, and Timor-Leste.

[email protected]

Share if you like